Public Safety Advisory Committee

Public Safety Advisory Committee

On July 27, 2020, Ohio State’s Department of Public Safety held its initial, introductory meeting of a newly created standing Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC) composed of Ohio State students, faculty, and staff. All divisions within the Department of Public Safety consult with the committee, with the goal of obtaining their feedback and assistance in their work toward enhancing the safety and well-being of all members of our university community. The committee discusses a wide variety of topics, including the exploration of new programs, continuous operational improvement initiatives, safety notices, community outreach and engagement, training opportunities, crime trends, safety risks, crime prevention strategies, and compliance with best practices and regulations. The PSAC meets periodically throughout the spring and autumn semesters, no less than four times annually. After the introductory meeting, notes have been kept for each meeting. Click on the links below to see a summary of the discussions that have occurred to date on the Public Safety Advisory Committee. University community members are encouraged to contact any committee member, or Monica Moll, Director of Public Safety, with any questions or ideas.




Mustafa Abubakr
General Assembly Senator, Undergraduate Student Government

Lulu Montes
Diversity & Inclusion Committee and General Assembly Senator
Undergraduate Student Government

Aryn Hubbard
University Senator, Undergraduate Student Government

Nicholas Dang
President, Asian American Association

Abdul Kaba
Co-President, Muslim Students’ Association

Sarah Siddiqui
Co-President, Muslim Students’ Association

Garry Miles
Undergraduate student

Teya LeBlanc-Hill
Residence Hall Advisory Council

Stephen Post
President, Council of Graduate Students

Ben Walberg
Interprofessional Council

Faculty and Staff 

Yolanda Zepeda
Assistant Vice Provost, Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Katherine Betts
Intercultural Specialist, African/African American Student Initiatives
Multicultural Center

Amy Young, LISW-S
Assistant Director, Training 
Counseling & Consultation Services

Kelly Smith, JD 
Director, Student Conduct

Dr. Qiana Smith
Interim Director, Residence Life

Marek T Greer, MD MPH FACOEM
Associate Clinical Professor, Medical Director of Occupational Medicine and Employee Health Services

Holly Davis
University Staff Advisory Committee
Research Commons Public Services Coordinator
University Libraries

Dr. Simone Drake
Hazel C. Youngberg Trustees Distinguished Professor, Department of English

Dr. Paul Bellair
Professor, Department of Sociology
Director of Criminal Justice Research Center

Dr. Townsand Price-Spratlen 
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

Dr. Njeri Kagotho 
Associate Professor, ​College of Social Work

Dr. Jeffrey McKee 
Professor, Department of Anthropology

Micah Berman, JD
Associate Professor, College of Public Health & Moritz College of Law

Dr. Moetiz Samad
Associate Director - Inclusive Excellence, Department of Residence Life

Department of Public Safety Divisional Representatives

Dr. Monica Moll
Director, Public Safety

Kimberly Spears-McNatt
Chief of Police, Police Division

Tracy Hahn
Deputy Chief of Police, Police Division

Adam Featherling
Staff Sergeant – Regional Campuses, Police Division

Doug McGrew
Director, Central Campus Security Services Division

Mike Mandelkorn
Director, Wexner Medical Center Security Services Division

Bob Armstrong
Director, Emergency Management & Fire Prevention Division

Satoru Persons
Director, Communications & Security Technology Division

Margaret Bussard
Manager, Administrative Services

Claudia Bonham 
Administrative Assistant




Icon for Rave Guardian app


Download the app by searching “Rave Guardian” inside the Ohio State app(link is external).

Icon for Lyft Ride Smart at Ohio State


Lyft Ride Smart at Ohio State offers students discounted rides, inside the university-designated service area, from 9 p.m. to 3 a.m.

Icon for safety notices


Ohio State’s Department of Public Safety uses a variety of methods to communicate with the campus community. 

Icon for home safety.


Remember to lock your windows and doors and pick up complimentary safety alarms and timers from the Off-Campus and Commuter Student Services office located in the Ohio Union. 

Phone icon to add police to your contacts


Add our non-emergency number 614-292-2121 to your contacts and always
dial 9-1-1 in case of emergencies.